Main Menu

6 things to know about the Year of the Rooster

Posted on Jan 23, 2017 in Ideas & Lifestyle, Newsletters by | Comments
6 things to know about the Year of the Rooster


appy New Year, guys and gals! Here are 6 things you might not have known about the Chinese zodiac and Year of the Rooster (this year).

The Rooster is one of 12 different animals in the Chinese zodiac.

The Chinese zodiac is made up of a 12-year cycle where each year is represented by one of 12 animals. In order, they are: Rat (e.g., 2008), Ox, Tiger, Rabbit, Dragon, Snake, Horse, Goat, Monkey, Rooster (this year), Dog, and Pig.

People born to this sign are usually “cocky.”

The tenth Chinese zodiac sign is the Rooster, which is known for being confident and enjoying the spotlight. This sign is also known for being tidy and well-organized. Often they are perfectionists, and can be quite critical of those who aren’t on their level. Because of their confidence and enthusiasm, they often excel at being police officers, athletes, or beauticians, among other careers.

The Chinese New Year doesn’t start on January 1st.

The first day of the Chinese zodiac year starts on Chinese New Year’s Day, falling between late January and late February, the first day of the Chinese lunar calendar. This year, Chinese New Year’s Day is on January 28th.

In folklore, each sign has an unlucky year.

The Chinese zodiac goes through a new cycle every 12 years, allowing each zodiac sign to meet their birth sign year at age 12, 24, 36, etc. It’s been a running superstition that one’s own zodiac year is said to bring bad luck. For example, people born in the Year of the Rooster should be cautious about their career, fortune, health, and love in Rooster years (e.g., 2017, 2029, 2041, and 2053).

Each sign shares the zodiac with the five Chinese elements.

Every year, each animal in the Chinese zodiac will associate with one of the five elements (Gold, Water, Wood, Earth, and Fire). These elements cycle through each zodiac sign, recurring once every 60 years. For example, the year of 2017 is a Fire Rooster year. The next Fire Rooster doesn’t happen until the year 2077.

There are six Yin/Yang zodiac pairs.

The Chinese zodiac can also be divided into pairs of yin and yang based on the number of toes their representative animal owns. Odd numbers become yang, and even-toed zodiac animals become yin. For example, roosters have four toes on each limb, so the Rooster is a yin sign.


So, did you learn anything new about Chinese astrology? Are you excited for the Year of the Rooster? Tell us in the comments below.